About the FMS News & Events Membership Merchandise Resources & Links Contact Give Facebook

The Timeless Melodies of David Raksin
Rare sheet music folio now available through The Film Music Society

The Timeless Melodies of David RaksinHad David Raksin written nothing but the immortal "Laura," it would have been measure enough of his incomparable talent for melody and harmony.

But the composer of scores for such Hollywood classics as Forever Amber, The Bad and the Beautiful and Separate Tables had also written a treasure trove of songs. He shared his favorites in a collection called The Timeless Melodies of David Raksin.

Originally published by Ekay Music in 1996, this extraordinary 112-page, 9" x 12" collection of sheet music has long been out of print and hard to find.

A number of years ago, Raksin donated a few copies of this songbook to The Film Music Society for fundraising, and we are happy to offer them for purchase while the supply lasts.

Each song was arranged for piano by Raksin, who oversaw the compilation and publication of the music. This wonderful folio is filled with his personal commentaries and anecdotal material as well as rare photographs and images.

Selections include lyrics by such noted collaborators as Johnny Mercer, Marshall Barer, Jay Livingston and Ray Evans, and a few by Raksin himself under the nom de plume John Sartain, Jr.

Our stock is small, so contact us early before they sell out! There are 20 copies available at a price of $50 each for members and $75 each for nonmembers. We also have an additional 8 copies autographed by David Raksin at a price of $75 for members and $100 for non-members. (Shipping/handling is extra.) Sorry – only one songbook per person!

Orders can be placed by phone, fax, mail or e-mail. Your purchase price minus $20 is tax-deductible as a chartible donation, and you will receive a letter of donor confirmation.

And if you would like to become a member of The Film Music Society, please visit our Membership page and read about how you can help support film music preservation!

Sheet music selections in The Timeless Melodies of David Raksin:
  • "The Bad and the Beautiful" (vocal version of "Love is For the Very Young")
  • "Fall in Love" previously unpublished
  • "How Shall We Begin" from the film Too Late Blues
  • "I Wish" from the Broadway musical If the Shoe Fits
  • "If You Remember Me" previously unpublished
  • "Laura" (new 1995 piano/vocal) from the film Laura
  • "Laura" (piano solo) from the film Laura
  • "Lonely Rider" from the film Will Penny
  • "Love is For the Very Young" from the film The Bad and the Beautiful
  • "Mirror, Mirror, Mirror" from the film A Big Hand for the Little Lady
  • "Mother & Father Waltzing" previously unpublished
  • "My Love and I" from the film Apache
  • "Slowly" from the film The Fallen Angel
  • "Sometimes I Wonder What I'm Doing Here" previously unpublished
  • "A Song After Sundown" from the film Too Late Blues
  • "Song of the Wind" from the film The Vintage
  • "Suddenly" from the film Suddenly
  • "Sylvia" from the film Sylvia
  • "Tchaikovsky at Twilight" previously unpublished
  • "Tell Me That You Love Me" previously unpublished
  • "That's Loneliness" (vocal version of "A Song After Sundown")
  • "Will You Be My Valentine" previously unpublished
  • "Woodpecker Waltz" previously unpublished
  • "You Can't Go Home Again" unpublished; written for the film Separate Tables

Help preserve the legacy of film and television music by supporting The Film Music Society!

back to top

Special Offer
For sale to members only!

"Hollywood Composers" by David RaksinDavid Raksin Remembers His Colleagues: Hollywood Composers
Published by The Stanford Theatre Foundation, 1st printing, 47 pp, softcover
Foreword by David W. Packard

©1995 David Raksin, All Rights Reserved

David Raksin Remembers His Colleagues: Hollywood Composers, is a collection of fascinating essays written by Mr. Raksin in association with a festival of classic film scores at the Stanford Theatre in Palo Alto, California in April 1995. This limited edition is now available for purchase only through The Film Music Society, and only by members!

Each essay offers candid insight into the life and career of some of the most important composers in film history – Aaron Copland, Hugo Friedhofer, Bernard Herrmann, Erich Wolfgang Korngold, Alfred Newman, Miklós Rózsa, Max Steiner, Dmitri Tiomkin and Franz Waxman, along with an autobiographical essay – all from Mr. Raksin's unique perspective.

A limited number of these books are available to members only for $20 plus s/h. Please call, write or email us to buy your copy.

About the FMS News & Events Membership Merchandise Resources & Links Contact Facebook