HomeNews Archive
About the FMS News & Events Membership Merchandise Resources & Links Contact Give Facebook
>Print this article  

May 30, 2007
Fred Steiner Receives Oberlin Honorary Doctorate
Renowned composer returns to his alma mater for accolades

Fred Steiner
OBERLIN, Ohio—Fred Steiner, composer of some of the most beloved music in television history, received an honorary doctor of music degree from his alma mater, Oberlin College, in commencement ceremonies on Monday, May 28.

Steiner graduated from the Oberlin Conservatory of Music – one of the nation's oldest and most prestigious musical institutions – with a degree in composition in 1943. He went on to write for radio and television, including the familiar themes for Perry Mason and Rocky & Bullwinkle, and considerable music for the original Twilight Zone and Star Trek series.

Over the years, he also composed for Gunsmoke, Hawaii Five-0, Hogan's Heroes, Rawhide, The Untouchables, The Andy Griffith Show, Tiny Toon Adventures and the miniseries Blood Feud. His feature-film scores include Run for the Sun, Time Limit, The St. Valentine's Day Massacre and (in collaboration with Quincy Jones and other writers) The Color Purple, for which he received a 1985 Oscar nomination.

In recent years, Steiner has turned his attention to musicology, specifically as it relates to classic film music. His 1974 essay on Bernard Herrmann's Psycho is believed to be the first known musicological analysis of a film score.

In 1981, he was awarded a doctorate in musicology from the University of Southern California for his landmark thesis on the early career of composer Alfred Newman. He has written scholarly articles on film music for The Cue Sheet, Film Music Quarterly and the Quarterly Journal of the Library of Congress; taught film-music history, composition and orchestration at USC for several years; and has lectured at other colleges and universities around the country.

He was one of the founding members of The Film Music Society and served on its board for many years.

back to top
Past Features

Oscar Music Swept Up in La La Land

Ceremony featured Best Song performances by Timberlake, Sting, Legend

Classic Film Music on Disc: The Best of 2016

Ellington, North, Goldsmith, Rorem, Schickele among top recordings

Why the Arrival Score was Disqualified

Composers Johannsson, Richter explain what happened

Thomas Newman, Diane Warren Honored as SCL Ambassadors

Composers Poledouris, Rose added to Hall of Fame

Feature Archives
>2018 Archive

>2017 Archive

>2016 Archive

>2015 Archive

>2014 Archive

>2013 Archive

>2012 Archive

>2011 Archive

>2010 Archive

>2009 Archive

>2008 Archive

>2007 Archive

>2006 Archive

>2005 Archive

>2004 Archive

>2003 Archive

>All Archives

Home Copyright © 2002-18 The Film Music Society, all rights reserved.
About the FMS News & Events Membership Merchandise Resources & Links Contact Facebook